Tree peony cuttings?

Discussion in 'Woody Plants' started by maggiec, Jun 7, 2007.

1. maggiec

maggiec Active Member 10 Years

I have a particular peony that seems to be much nicer than others in my garden, and I would like to try to propagate it. I have no experience at all with grafting and that seems a bit beyond me. I've read of some success with simply taking cuttings. Anyone try this? Info, suggestions?

This picture is a couple of years old. The plant is somewhat bigger now.

Attached Files:

2. chimera

chimera Well-Known Member 10 Years

Beautiful flowers and plant, is it named and on it's own roots ? Grafting isn't really all that difficult with most tree peonies. Takes some care the first couple of years . They are usually grafted on to herbaceous roots, in the fall, which should not send up adventitious buds. Kept at warm temperatures for about 6 weeks, then cool temperatures for another 6 weeks. Generally about a 50%+ success rate. Maybe a good peony book from the library would help. Might try ground layering a low branch. Haven't tried cuttings, hear the success rate isn't that good. Maybe other forum participants have been successful with cuttings.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2007
  3. Sunset Cycads

Sunset Cycads Active Member 10 Years

I am no expert on peonies, although they are my favourite flower, but what about collecting and growing them from seed?

4. chimera