Zamioculcas ZZ plant

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by zzlover, Jun 12, 2007.

1. zzlover

zzlover Member

Hello, I am new to the UBC Botanical Garden. I have a ZZ PLANT that I started (3) years ago from a single leaf. It has grown to 28" tall and is doing quite well. It has 7 stalks. I give it a good soaking every 3-4 weeks during the winter months and let it completely dry out between waterings. In the summer (2-3 weeks) I have never fertilized my plant because I have no idea what the best fertilizer is for this plant. I have learned that it can produce flowers, although I haven't seen any yet. Can anyone please tell me the best fertilizer to use, soil? and how to get it to produce flowers?? Thanks everyone.

2. Bluewing

Bluewing Well-Known Member

The flowers are not particularly that attractive, (mine has not flowered..... yet) but I have heard other ZZ owners that gave their zz's more indirect light, or just a little bit of morning sun in an east window, or placed off to the side of west window.

Use a balanced fertilizer such as 10-10-10, 20-20-20

3. zzlover

zzlover Member

Thanks very much for your reply. I was doing some research and you're right! I also found out that they are rather unattractive. I appreciate your suggestion for fertilizer. Much appreciated.
    ZZ

4. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member