Your photographs. Your rights under the U.S. Copyright Law!

Discussion in 'Conversations Forum' started by photopro, Jun 15, 2008.

1. photopro

photopro Well-Known Member

Please understand, I am a retired commercial photographer with well over 20 years experience and jealously protect my U.S. Copyright Law rights! I published my first magazine work in 1977 and wrote over 300 nationally published articles which I also illustrated. But I am still publishing articles today, just not on a regular basis. My personal website has the copyright ownership stated on every single page. But I still find my photos "stolen" and used on other websites all the time. Normally, I just ask they be removed or credit given as to where the photo was obtained.

I do not openly threaten anyone. I freely grant people who ask the right to use my photographs. But I own them! That is the U.S. Copyright Law.

You DO NOT have to file any forms or pay any fees to own a copyright. Legally, that copyright is created at the second you press the shutter. But if you wish to file a lawsuit, and I have, for copyright infringement and collect the legal fees acquired as a part of the settlement you need to file the correct forms and pay a fee. Those forms are filed with the U.S. Library of Congress. You can copyright pages of photographs at the same time for a single fee! Just read the law or contact a copyright attorney for the details. But you own your work regardless of whether you file or not! But not filing does not limit your right to protect your copyright!

It is best if you feel your work has value to file the forms with the Library of Congress and pay the small fee. But technically all you need do is add this: Photograph Copyright (year) and your name. That is legally all you need do. But you don't even have to do that! Just clicking the shutter grants you legal ownership!

Here are links that explain the U.S. Copyright law:

http://www.copyright.gov/help/faq/faq-fairuse.html