Wildflower Identification

Discussion in 'Plants: Identification' started by Daniel Mosquin, May 28, 2003.

1. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

The following was received via email from England:

I am an amateur photographer living in the UK and having a keen interest in photography of wild flowers in their natural habitat. Although I am a graduate scientist, my botanical training is minimal (restricted to one afternoon at Kew Gardens during a five day photographic course run by Heather Angel.) I have a particular interest in the flowers of the Rocky Mountains (and Alberta and British Columbia in general) and have made several trips over the last few years in this area. My interest in Canada (and the west) is linked to the fact that I have a daughter living in
    Toronto and my wife has cousins in Calgary and Vancouver.

On my last visit to the Rockies in 2001 I returned home with about 200 flower photographs. Many of the flowers I have identified from reference books but two in particular I am uncertain of at the moment. Both were in fact taken in Alberta, but no doubt also grow in BC, and I wonder if you are willing and able to help me identify them from the attached copies.

The first one, which has a flower head with what look like many tiny pale cream bells, I have been completely unable to identify (or is it one of the dock family? - the flower head looks the right shape for a UK common dock but I don't know about the leaves). It was taken somewhere in Waterton Lakes N.P., probably either on the trail to Bertha Falls or on the road to Red Rock Canyon. The photograph was taken on July 2.