Identification: What is this plant, and is it normally supposed to be so fragile?

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Pumathang, Jul 6, 2016.

1. Pumathang

Pumathang New Member

I'm a houseplant novice who has recently assumed care of some battered plants, with mostly positive results so far. I've been able to identify most of my plants by googling images, but this one has me stumped. I think it looks kind of like a variation of trandescantia, but I could be wrong. The coloring sort of resembles the oyster/Moses in the cradle plant, but I have one of those and it's definitely something different.

Its soil is in pretty poor shape and in desperate need of repotting, but it's extremely fragile and just touching this plant will usually knock a big section of vine off (usually 6-12 inch sections). It was pretty dried out a few weeks ago, but has since greened back up and looks much healthier than it did a few weeks ago. I occasionally find a brown leaf, but the rest of them seem healthy and soft, so it's not falling apart because it's dry, but maybe there is lingering damage. I have another pot full of lost pieces that seem to grow just fine after being stuck in the dirt, though none of them are long enough yet to break off if they are gently bumped like the original plant.

Any insight as to what this might be would be greatly appreciated. :)

Attached Files:

• dp1.jpg
      dp1.jpg
      File size:
      253.5 KB
      Views:
    • dp2.jpg
      dp2.jpg
      File size:
      278.5 KB
      Views:
  2. Margot

Margot Renowned Contributor 10 Years