tree id

Discussion in 'Plants: Identification' started by nitrogeninthesoil, Dec 19, 2017.

1. nitrogeninthesoil

nitrogeninthesoil Active Member 10 Years

Hi,

Can someone tell me what this is? It has appeared on a roadside in the western NC mtns and has grown VERY fast. I'm not good with tree ids so if there are other characteristics I should take pics of please tell me.

The leaves are roundish and coarsely toothed and there are short branches on the trunk and branches that terminate in very pointy leaf buds...they almost look like thorns. The tree has not lost it leaves though some have turned red.

Thank-you!

Attached Files:

2. nitrogeninthesoil

Could this be Bradford pear related?

3. Silver surfer

Silver surfer Generous Contributor 10 Years

4. nitrogeninthesoil

Silver,

Thank-you for your suggestion....I see the similarities but on the tree in question it appears that the "thorns" are actually the leaf buds....I don't think this is true of Crataegus sp. Also the teeth on the leaves are more rounded (scalloped?) on the unknown....not as sharp as on Crataegus. The unknown appears to be shrublike in that there are several stems growing from the base and I would say it would be extremely aggressive and possibly invasive were it not mown down every so often by the DOT. So I'm guessing whatever it is....it is not native.

Edited to say: very bad id on my part! Silver is correct!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
  5. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

One of the wild plums?

nitrogeninthesoil likes this.
  6. nitrogeninthesoil

Thank-you Michael but I don't think it's a plum....I'm leaning towards Silver's guess...I think it's a hawthorn...found a pic that showing a thorn that matched what I thought was a bud....it's got to be Hawthorn!

7. nitrogeninthesoil