seaweed liquid fertilizer (as foliar spray)

Discussion in 'Garden Design and Plant Suggestions' started by shunmuu, Jun 11, 2009.

1. shunmuu

shunmuu Member

If I can spray it on tomato's flower, and is it harmful to human health spraying on vegetables' leaves? (i am a beginner trying to educate myself)

2. bjo

bjo Active Member 10 Years

hi,

in my opinion, no problem.

Presumably you will use the fertilizer sometime...say weeks... before you are going to eat the vegetables. By this time the fertilizer should have been absorbed and metabolised - otherwise there was no point in using it. If you wash the vegetables before use, any residue that might be on the leaves would be washed off. So the effect on you as a consumer would be the same as with a fertilizer applied to the soil.

Liquid seaweed fertilizers out of the bottle will almost certainly contain bacteria etc and I know in some cases have a preservative added to stop bacterial growth. So probably not a good idea to drink undiluted from the bottle...but otherwise probably very safe !!

ciao
    Brian

3. shunmuu

shunmuu Member

Thank you so much for the answer, i am trying to grow my own vegetables, worrying ..say only leaves vegetables(trying as much organic as i can). i also think that it is much better not to use any spray at all on leaves vegetables, but only soil fertilizer.therefore i plan to use both soil and foliar (organic) fertilizer on fruit plants(tomatoes, zucchini,......etc) but any leave-vegetables.is it a good idea?(as i see you seem to be educated on planting!), thank you very much i hope you can answer a lot of my questions in the future.

4. bjo

Hi,