Plum Tree covered in Ants, Aphids

Discussion in 'Fruit and Nut Trees' started by joZ, Jun 19, 2007.

1. joZ

joZ Active Member

I have a plum tree (located right up tight beside an arbutus unedo, close to magnolias, and adjacent to a few deutzias) covered in small black ants. They are literally swarming the trunk. They are all over the tree, on the leaves. The tree doesn't look healthy.

The arbutus unedo suffered a lot of winter damage and itself is struggling with many dead branches and leaves (which I am trying to prune).

I haven't found ants on the other trees (yet).

I'm a newbie gardener (just this year). I did my internet search and found that the ants are probably after the aphids and the honeydew they produce. So I went out and got some Tangelfoot. It has stopped some of the ants, not all. Last night I sprayed the tree (as high as I could reach) with mixture of water and detergent. But I can't reach that high as my ladder is only 6 ft and the tree is about 15-20.

Today, there are still ants on the leaves, high on the tree. I took these pictures of the leaves...some green, some redish and wilting, most with lots of bites out of them, some with odd greyish/white stuff on it (as in pic 740kb)...and I found one leaf - oh my goodness - I've never seen the little devils up close. What do I do with them? Yuck.

So...am I doing the right things? How can I make this tree healthy again? Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. martinpribble

martinpribble Active Member

The ants probably live in the ground dependin on what ants are there, so you may be able to control them by making a barrier on the trunk to stop them climbing up. There are horticultural glues available, but I was once told that you can do the same with vaseline.

3. joZ

joZ Active Member