Please help! Cactus identification!

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by iamdmf, Aug 16, 2009.

1. iamdmf

iamdmf Member

Hello all, I'm new to this but would appreciate some help in identifying my cactus and what the problem seems to be with it. Recently I noticed that it was turning brown on one one the off shoots. I returned to the shop where I bought it from and they suggested I could have over watered it. Unfortunately they didn't know what type of cactus it was even though there was many still in the shop!!?! Anyway since burying my head in the sand so to speak the base has developed some kind of white fungus, I'm now scared it will die! can somebody please help with the identification and what I should do to fix this problem? Many thanks for your time, David.

Attached Files:

• 1cac.JPG
      1cac.JPG
      File size:
      35.2 KB
      Views:
    • 2cac.JPG
      2cac.JPG
      File size:
      26.6 KB
      Views:
  2. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

I am not convinced that this is a cactus, it could be an Euphorbia (but the picture is not detailed enough, at least not for me).

So the white patches at the base is some kind of mold? I have never seen that on my plants, but it certainly doesn't look good. When a fungal infection is visible on the surface it usually mean that it is well established inside the plant. If it had been my plant I would have isolated it, taken a spare cutting or two (well above the fungus) and waited to see if the patches grow. If they do I would throw away the plant and root the cutting instead.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2009
  3. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

looks like euphorbia trigonas.

they 'cork' as they get older, so, most of the discoloration is probably nothing to worry about. that whitish spot at the top of the area looks like it might be some kind of fungus, though. does it scrape off? if so, you'll need to treat with a fungicide.

4. iamdmf

iamdmf Member