Planting calendar

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by markcripple, Apr 25, 2006.

1. markcripple

markcripple Member

I'm a novice in Maple Ridge but I've had success with: carrots, corn, cucumbers, peas, beans, spinach. I use 4x4 raised beds. The main issue I have is knowing when to plant. Seed packages say really helpful things like Late Spring, or Early Summer. I need something like February 15th: plant peas. April 25th: plant corn. Does anyone have a tried and true list of planting times? I'll pretty much stick with the basic set of crops listed above, but I would like to add beets to the list. The peas planted Feb 15th do well for me, but that's all I've got.

2. pierrot

pierrot Active Member 10 Years

best thing you can do is pick up a west coast seed catalogue. in the front few pages and throughot the booklet ther are hints for the west coast gardener.

it should be available in your area

it should be seen as a guideline as your garden will be different from those in the north shore

3. AlexH

AlexH Active Member

I'm in the same situation. Down in the States they have something called the Extension Service and they publish very detailed information for vegetable gardeners.

Have a look at this PDF:

http://muextension.missouri.edu/explorepdf/agguides/hort/g06201.pdf

I don't know if we have the same thing for Vancouver and the Lower Mainland but if anyone knows, please post!

4. Carol Ja

Carol Ja Active Member 10 Years

5. silver_creek

silver_creek Active Member

6. AlexH

AlexH Active Member

7. qikiprana

qikiprana Member

8. Acoma

Acoma Active Member