Oh O! What have I done?

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by JustPeg, Jun 27, 2008.

1. JustPeg

JustPeg Member

Hello Everyone,
    I'm new here and hope this question hasn't been asked too many times.

I was looking at my new climbing rose and noticed most of the leaves have gone yellow and the flower heads are wilting and losing their petals.
    When I first planted the rose, I pilled it high ontop of the soil, as I am going to put brand new soil, manure mixed with top soil, in the garden as it has alot of clay in it. It's awful soil actually.

I piled plenty of the thick black soil from my compost heap around it. It actually looks more like a Rose Hill or Mound.

Should I have just left it in the clay and fertilized or is this just shock from being transplanted? I water it every 2 days and have fertilized with a basic one, as to not burn it with fertilizers I have no experience with?

Long question, but I wanted to give alot of info also.
    Thank you,
    JustPeg

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Sounds like it could be either transplanting shock (root damage) or overwatering.

Last edited: Jul 1, 2008
  3. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hey Peg, I deleted your other post. We find it is better to keep the conversation in one thread. Otherwise it gets confusing. If no replies after a day or two you can always reply to your own thread to bump it back up in the queue.