Night blooming flowers/plants

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by ckyadam, Mar 18, 2007.

1. ckyadam

ckyadam Member

Hi im new to this, i was wondering if anyone knows of an indoor plant/flower that blooms and or gives off a fragrance at night and if possible where i could get one.

many thanks adam.

2. James D.

James D. Active Member

there is Epiphyllum oxypetalum,"queen of the night", its a very easy to care for forest cactus that has large white blooms at night. these are pretty easy to find at local nursuries or floral shops. there is also Cestrum nocturnum, this bloom at night and has a great scent. pretty hard to find around here though. hope this helps you out.

3. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

Have a look through this list. The evening- (es) and night-scented (ns) entries may interest you. James's suggestions are included in the list.

4. kome

kome Active Member

try "Cestrum nocturnum" common name:Night Jessamine, hope to meet what you wanted.

5. alhambra

alhambra Member

Hello,

I am looking for Cestrum Nocturnum but can't find it anywhere. Can you help me. I live in Ottawa.

6. alhambra

alhambra Member

Hello James,

I am desperatly looking for Cestrum Nocturnum. Can you help me? I also live in Ottawa.

7. Junglekeeper

Check with Plants of Perfection.

8. alhambra

alhambra Member

Thank you so much. I will give it a try!

9. James D.

James D. Active Member

i haven't seen it for sale in ottawa in quite a while, but you may want to try the market or Reno Depot (Hull) they both usually have really nice and unusual plants.

10. Junglekeeper

It's not a problem finding one in Vancouver. There were some from Monrovia that are 3-4' tall, in a 1-gal pot selling for $20. Rooted cuttings are common as well, selling for much less.

11. alhambra

alhambra Member

Thank you both. I have E-mailed the Plants of perfection nursury and I am waiting for a reply.

Amine

12. LPN

LPN Well-Known Member 10 Years