New house. New garden. Need help

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by sfire436, Mar 20, 2017.

1. sfire436

sfire436 New Member

Just bought a home with a garden and need help knowing what I need to do with these. I am very very new to outdoor plants and gardening.

What do I need to do to these plants? I'm quite certain the rosemary did not make the winter... :(

Attached Files:

2. sfire436

sfire436 New Member

This is the rosemary

Attached Files:

3. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

On the rosemary, you can check the buds to see if they are full or not with a thumbnail press. I agree, it is looking doubtful, but there's not too much harm in waiting a few weeks.

As for the other, it looks like some sort of fabaceous shrub like Genista or similar. Perhaps these are grown for having scented flowers near windows? In any case, you can always prune back dead wood on these, though that looks like a fair bit of work in this instance.

4. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

The first two images kind of reminds me of Jasminum officinale--looks alive whatever it is. The third image looks like Nandina. I think I see flowers that did not mature, but no berries? Maybe chopped off.

5. Georgia Strait

Georgia Strait Generous Contributor

South Okanagan & Greater Vancouver, BC Canada
    my rosemary that I used for cooking died this winter too --- and it had survived all prev winters for approx 8 yrs.
    I wish I had made more cuttings as it was a hardy one (til recently)
    (cut a healthy piece - put it in a glass of water on your kitchen window sill --- roots will form --- proceed accordingly)