New at Cacti Growing

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by Gravy_Guy, Aug 13, 2017.

1. Gravy_Guy

Gravy_Guy New Member

Hello everyone I'm new at cacti growing so I was hoping you can help me identify these two types of cacti I bought last month.. Also I'm hoping if you guys can give me tips on growing these two, by the way i live in Philippines where we only have sunny and rainy and a tropical country.

The one on the left has yellowish spines and the other on the right grows reddish spines.
    Gravy_Guy-20814963_857759634387956_69569361_n.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 13, 2017
  2. mandarin

mandarin Active Member 10 Years

The genus is most likely Echinopsis (Lobivia), one of many cactus genera with several species that look very similar when young, and where lots of hybrids have been created. Flowers will make it easier to guess.

3. Gravy_Guy

Gravy_Guy New Member

Wow thank you mandarin I searched the net Echinopsis and the results really look like my cacti but early this morning I found some white spot on the bigger one I think it might be sunburn, maybe I put it out on the sun to much but how can I fix it? And the small one is making me worry because earlier I found some web in between its spines.. Is my cactus infected with spider mites?

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2017
  4. mandarin

Sunburn damage will not heal, but you can prevent more damage by letting your plants get used to the light gradually.

A bad sign. The best way to determine if mites are present on the plant is to use a magnifying glass.

5. Gravy_Guy

Gravy_Guy New Member

Earlier I found this on my cactus and it's freaking me out though I haven't seen a mite. What is this and what should I do?

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2017
  6. mandarin

The white spot? That is not due to mites, it is a ordinary scar. Hard to say how the plant was damaged, could be a tool or a neighbour cactus, for example.

7. Gravy_Guy

Gravy_Guy New Member