my plants are dying all the sudden

Discussion in 'Small Space Gardening' started by shellegirl82, May 28, 2009.

1. shellegirl82

shellegirl82 Member

my mom split some of her plants last fall for me and i transplanted them this year to my garden. these included some lillies irisis some columbine and seedum, blue fesque and some silver mound. im so sorry if i mis spelled those. but after i planted them they all were doing so very well, growing fast and very green. now all the sudden half of them have started to die. wilt and turn yellow then brown and then die. i have nooo idea why..can anyone help??

2. Vera eastern wa

Vera eastern wa Active Member

From the description it sounds too me like over-watering is the issue.

3. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Or the opposite, this being the time of year when it starts to get hot.

4. Mister Green

Mister Green Active Member

Not that I'm an expert at this but it might be interesting to know which half of the plants are turning brown. Just certain species or just certain areas.

5. shellegirl82

shellegirl82 Member

well it seems like half is mostly on one side. the side that gets sun in the am and then againin the afternoon. i thought maybe it was casue they were getting to much sun..but that wouldnt make sence, my mom had them all in full sun where they got shade when the sun went down. it is a pretty wet area but they were doing so well when i first planted them which was when the soil was wet all the time. now that it is not like that i water them once a day..i thought maybe they were over or under watered but they were growing fine in wet soil. the soil is the same and they are not doing so good anymore....my lillies and irisis seem to be doing the best and the daphodils did well. its the columbine and and the seedum blue fesque and silver mound that are dying..at the moment

6. shellegirl82

shellegirl82 Member