Mango Growing

Discussion in 'Fruit and Nut Trees' started by icjoeyc, Jan 9, 2009.

1. icjoeyc

icjoeyc Member

Hey, I'm new to the planting gig and well i wanted something to do in my spare time and i thought, why not try and plant and grow a mango seed. I live in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia and the climate here is very strange so i thought i would try to grow the mango seed in a pot indoors. It has been three weeks now and my little plant is doing well, but the thing is.... I planted one seed and for some reason i have two stalks growing? Like i said i am new to this and I just wanted to know if this poses a problem for the future tree to be grown healthy. Any suggestions?

Attached Files:

2. Liz

Liz Well-Known Member 10 Years

Me thinks it may well grow like the avacado does down here but will probably never bare fruit. If it does the possums will get it. If they don't parrots will. :) I think that twin sten thingy has also been mentioned by the citrus people. Let it grow and see what happens.

Liz (in the hills)

3. icjoeyc

icjoeyc Member

Ok i might be a little under skilled when it comes to knowing things about plants and such, but i swear i can see a third stalk developing from the one seed, i will add more pics as the plant develops but i just don't understand what is going on. As for the tree bearing fruit, well i hope it does either way. In truth everyone who knew i was trying to grow a mango tree said i would have no hope, but the little guy is doing well so far and i have shocked a few people with it. So who knows maybe it will bear fruit to :)

4. Junglekeeper

Junglekeeper Esteemed Contributor 10 Years

I believe what you have is a variety of mango that produces polyembryonic seed. The individuals will be identical to the parent.

5. icjoeyc

icjoeyc Member