how can i turn my back yard into a garden

Discussion in 'Garden Design and Plant Suggestions' started by peja, Jan 25, 2010.

1. peja

peja Member

where do i start, i have never done any gardening before. i'll have to dig and remove grass im guessing and replace it with with soil. Also i'd like to plant veggies; fruit trees and herbs with require different types of soil; nutrients and temprature. how do i pull this off in a simple way?

2. joclyn

joclyn Rising Contributor

start small and simple. as in, don't go overboard with lots of projects or anything that's to big - you'll easily become overwhelmed. start off with a couple small areas and then you can expand them each year.

make a list of the things you *think* you want to grow (this list will be modified - additions/subtractions - as you go along over the years and learn things). do separate lists for plants/trees and edibles - one for vegy/fruits and one for herbs.

soil does not necessarily need to be modified. you can easily grow native plants with little fiddling. even some that aren't native.

you need to look at the areas you have and see where a garden would look nice and/or would work - sun light levels, drainage, foot traffic, how much room you have, etc, are things to take into consideration. you also need to know what your hardiness zone is - there's a link in the panel on the right hand side of this page for 'hardiness zones'. regardless of what your zone is, there are always 'micro climates' within any given zone - so, you may be able to grow things in certain spots that aren't, technically, really do-able in your general zone.