Help with succulents

Discussion in 'Cacti and Succulents' started by kwl11, Sep 15, 2017.

1. kwl11

kwl11 New Member

Hi I'm new to growing succulents and I have a few questions! Unfortunately mine have been through a lot because I'm a university student, so I had to take them home for the summer and then bring them back to school.
    First picture: how long will it take for leaves to grow back on stems? Because the succulents were getting leggy, I cut the stems and got a grow light. I wish they were even shorter but I don't want to cut the stems too short and not have any leaves left. I'm trying to figure out if there are other problems keeping the leaves from growing back because they've been like this for a few weeks.

Second picture: any idea how to fix leaves that are curling downward? I thought the problem was dehydration at first, but they didn't improve upon watering and the leaves feel still feel firm.
    Any help would be much appreciated!! Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Eric La Fountaine

Eric La Fountaine Contributor Forums Moderator 10 Years

Hey kwl11, succulents are fairly tough plants, but they are easy to damage with overwatering or too moist of a soil medium. I assume there is no drainage in the glass bowl, so that will be a difficult situation to maintain a proper water and air balance in the soil. You might want to look for some shallow unglazed clay pots to grow your plants in. Be sure and always use a gritty soil with good drainage.