Help! Large amount of bark peeling away

Discussion in 'HortForum' started by duvalj, Sep 5, 2015.

1. duvalj

duvalj New Member

I have a large tree in my backyard that appears to have half the bark peeling away (see pictures below). Where the bark is peeling back it seems like it is wet 24/7. Since I am a complete novice with gardens and trees I'm unsure if this is bad, and if it is what caused it and how to save it. The tree has ton of leaves on top so I know its not dead, yet. Also too, the tree looks like it has partially swallowed the fence next to it, so hopefully that isn't the cause of the problem.

Any help would greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Josh

Attached Files:

2. vitog

vitog Contributor 10 Years

It appears that someone cut into the lower part of the tree to attach the fence. This killed the cambium layer on that side of the trunk from ground level to the top of the area photographed, and the affected cambium layer (with bark) peeled off. The tree is trying to regrow the cambium in that area, and it mostly looks pretty healthy. However, the lower area around the fence attachment is probably rotting; the rot will spread through the whole trunk eventually, unless it can be cleaned out. If you care about the tree, have an arborist assess the situation and provide recommendations. If survival of the tree is not important, you could remove the attached fence material, clean out as much of the rotten wood as practical, and hope for the best.

3. Sundrop

Sundrop Well-Known Member

I agree with vitog that the problem has been created by the fence.

It looks to me like somebody nailed the fence to the tree so the tree, when growing, was unable to simply push the fence away.
    It also looks like the fence material had been heavily treated with preservative that could kill the adjacent cambium inside the tree, but is protecting the fence inside the tree from rotting.