Help for Rhododendron occidentale with leaf wilt.

Discussion in 'Pacific Northwest Native Plants' started by GregR, Mar 16, 2017.

1. GregR

GregR New Member

I have little plant experience, but I got lucky with this one plant.

I have a 6'-7' /8" base 50 year old white Rhododendron Occidentale which has leaf wilt. It's been on the SE side of my house for forty years. It is shaded from the afternoon sun. The leaves have always been an olive green color not the darker green I see on many Rhodies. The leaves of the natural Rhodies I've seen in the sierras are darker than mine. I always fertilized it every year or so.

About 6 years ago, it got so big, I cut it back about 12" at the top. It seemed to like this trimming and sprang back with more shoots and flowers. Last year, after flowering, I cut it back again about 12". This winter I noticed it had unusually wilted leaves all over. I hadn't fertilized it for a couple of years. The are a few holes in many leaves. So I fertilized it well and considered digging it up and replacing the soil for better drainage. Not to be rash, I waited.

For the past ten years there has been a fast growing evergreen volunteer directly in it's limited sun exposure. I wasn't worried about that since the rhodie grew it's first 40 years in the shade of 4 junipers that died of oak root rot and beetles 20 years ago. Now I’m worried about every possible thing. We had double the rain as normal.

Today after reading another slew of articles about root rot and too much mosture, I decided to trim back any dead branches. It’s leaves looked a little less wilted today. We’ve had a few days without rain. I was thinking of digging a 3” trench around the drip line and out to the driveway for drainage. I also thought of taking plywood or plastic and making a low shed around the base to shed more water away from the roots…

What do you think,

greg

2. Keke

Keke Active Member 10 Years