Rhododendrons: Help - Really Sick Rhododendron!

Discussion in 'Ericaceae (rhododendrons, arbutus, etc.)' started by Unregistered, Dec 12, 2005.

1. I do hope you guys will be able to help me on this one. I am quite new to gardening and could really do with some advice as I think without it I am going to lose a beautiful rhododendron which we bought and planted in May. When we bought him he was green and perky - he didn't flower but at the time we suspected that it was due to the trauma of being moved. We bought three rhododendrons at the time and they all seem to be in fine health. It wasn't until a couple of months ago that this one started to drop his leaves. I don't remember them being particularly curled but the process did seem to happen quite quickly. He has been fighting the good fight ever since and I am amazed that he's still with me now (admittedly only just).

The soil we have here is heavy clay, so, to try and compensate for this my partner and I dug out a large amount of it and replaced it with three big sacks of ericaceous compost. The summer was dry and I was too naive to water as much as I should have done (I have since realised how neglectful I have been - I am a bad mother). I suspect too that the sprinkler which we planted by his roots is probably too close and could have caused some damage. I am also wondering now if we have planted him too deep.

It is hard to describe his symptoms. He has lost most of his leaves and some of the twigs have died. Some of the new leaves have gone brown and come away easily. I have checked for signs of bugs (at night with a torch as well as in daylight) and can't see any signs. He has been planted in the shade of the house which could of course upset him but one of his friends is on the patio in the same amount of shade and is doing very well indeed (although this is a different variety).