Washington: Green Plum

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by rp22lpo, Aug 12, 2011.

1. rp22lpo

rp22lpo Member

Hi All,

I'm new to any kind of posting or blogging at all so here it goes. We planted a green plum tree about 5 years ago. It was probably 5' tall or so to start. Well, it has never been pruned and is now 15'-20' tall. I know last spring (2010) it bloomed really well and this year (2011) I noticed it bloomed but not as much as last year. My question/concern is that we have never had any fruit - at all. When we got it we were told it was self pollinating. I don't know the exact variety but the tag is still on it so I could provide that information if it is needed. Do I need to prune it before I'll get fruit? If so, how should I go about it since it has NEVER been pruned? Any help or advice would be appreciated.

2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

Yes, provide the name on the tag, please.

3. vitog

vitog Contributor 10 Years

Pruning will have virtually no effect on fruiting. Either it needs cross-pollination or the climate is unsuitable for the variety. Here in Vancouver, BC, the Santa Rosa plum, supposedly a self-fertile variety, normally bears little to no fruit unless we have unusually warm weather during its blooming period.

4. rp22lpo

rp22lpo Member