Garden design tips for an utter neophyte?

Discussion in 'Garden Design and Plant Suggestions' started by Chihiro, May 5, 2009.

1. Chihiro

Chihiro Member

I hope I have posted in the right area!

I need to do something with my neglected back garden - I have been procrastinating for three years. It is south facing, small, lightly sloped and heavily shaded by a huge Bing cherry tree (which I could not possibly cut down….) Much of the rest of the yard is taken up by a big detached garage structure, and a large deck. The grass is largely scrubby and weedy and I would HUGELY appreciate any design ideas for my challenging space. I was hoping to do it myself (I contacted the Japanese gardener assn. - close to my house – but they were too busy to look and didn’t seem eager, to say the least.) Should I get a few yards of soil, spread it out, and then put some mulch and river rock under the tree? Or put pots with shade perennials in the ‘baldy’ areas under the tree, and try to turf the small grass area? (a landscaper friend recommended lawn boy)

Two larger plants, an old azalea and a never mock orange just upped and died over the winter and left two big bald spots in the side bed. Another complication is that the cedar roots make it difficult to plant, so I was considering raising/ amending the side beds, since my soil is quite poor as well. Not sure if I should attempt correcting the slope. . I want to do this ASAP- as does everyone I’m sure- so ANY ideas would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Chihiro

Chihiro Member

Sorry to bump.No replies at all... I must be doing something wrong. Is the picture really awful? Questions too general? Anyone have any suggestions about a forum that might be able to offer advice? TIA....

3. Jen P

Jen P Member

Hi,

Sorry to not respond earlier, but I was hesitant to offer advice because I'm a beginner, too. If I were in your shoes, however, here is how I would proceed: