Dwarf Umbrella Schefflera Arboricola - New grower - mild emergency

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Dinga, Jun 9, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Dinga

Dinga New Member

Hi guys,

So I am a 22 yo student in Cardiff at an art school - previously worked in garden centres and have been around a huge variety of plants but don't know all that much about caring for them.

Yesterday around 5pm I noticed a large & very nice looking dwarf umbrella perched in our Uni skip - not really covered in anyuthing, looked very much in-tact and pretty healthy to me. My parents have had one of these in their lounge for years so I took a shine to it.

I popped it in my car, took it home, cleaned all of the leaves individually and the stems (with pretty cold fresh water :/ and a sponge). I then cleaned all of the stems, clipped the dying parts and cleaned up the pot.

It seemed really very dry so I gave it some cold fresh water (read now that this was the wrong thing to do - gave it around a good bowl of water - maybe 3 mugs worth.) Ive just checked the base and its not really all that wet down there - though the top looks and feels moist.

Since, Ive put it in my room by my window which gets decent sunlight that is direct - I've read this is bad so I've moved it back a few feet (further than in the pictures).

-So, since putting it in my room and cleaning it, it seems to be dying more than when i found it - in a skip.

Ive attached some photos - a few of the leaves really started curling and drooping more - (although most of it was droopy when i found it). I clipped the very droopy ones at the stems.

My concern - apart from the droopy-ness, is that just about all of the stems look wrinkly and are partly squidgy. The higher leaves seem to be growing upwards and a bit more healthy, but to be honest most of it looks on the worse side of things to me.

1. Have I killed this plant - and am I possibly the worst gardener ever.