Draceana Massingeana dying??

Discussion in 'Indoor and Greenhouse Plants' started by Savvy, Apr 25, 2017.

1. Savvy

Savvy New Member

Hello. Im new to plants. I dont have a really green thumb. I cant figure out what happened to my smallest cane. Its leaves died and stalk died. so I cut it off. The other stalk fell off, but is still alive. I placed it in water and it is growing new roots currently. The cane is now stalkless. What seems to have caused it all is the outside started to wither. The Outside bark started drying and is flaky. It literally peels off. Underneath the bark is black yucky stuff. But underneath that the cane seems to sill live and is hard to the touch not mushy. what is this? fungus?? I would repot the whole thing but I dont even know how!!!

Attached Files:

2. thanrose

thanrose Active Member 10 Years

Yuck. Those areas where the outer "bark" is slipping are already dead. The black damp stuff is the circulatory system of the cane. Once it's dead, the rest is, too. You would have to cut/saw down below the loose skin to where it all holds together nicely in order for this particular cane to regrow. And there really may not be any of that cane left that is viable. It could be a number of reasons, but overwatering is very common. The other canes don't look too bad. Could be lots better, but are managing.