Dogwood Advice (Photo's Attached)

Discussion in 'Cornus (dogwoods)' started by Brian2412, Dec 4, 2009.

1. Brian2412

Brian2412 Member

Same deal as the others...I've recently moved to Richland, WA (Eastern Washington) and have a young dogwood tree growing in the back yard. I’m not sure when it was planted, but the house was built in 2005 so I can assume that the tree was planted some time since then.

My questions are:
    1) When should I prune (late dormancy or mid-summer)? I plan on pruning all of my trees in the late winter, but before spring (probably early February). Do dogwoods require much pruning?
    2) Is this tree over crowded with limbs? It looks like it needs thinned out to me, but again, I’m new to all of this and am not familiar with the dogwood. Please make recommendations.
    3) Should I spread any of the limbs out? Please make recommendations…
    5) How old do you think this dogwood is? Should I be concerned about its smaller size?
    Attached are photo's of the tree.

As a reminder - We are zone 7 (although, probably closer to a high 6). My soil is like beach sand when I dig. At the recommendation of the local nursery, I added soil amendments to try to help the tree (cutting out grass around the base) and mixing native soil with compost. I've also staked it to help with our high spring winds, however, will be removing these over the weekend.

Thank you in advance for the help.

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

What flowering dogwoods require in this respect is that they not be pruned very much at all. To get an idea of how all these different new trees you have bought should be handled, look for a good pruning book like Brickell/Joyce, The American Horticultural Society Guide to Pruning & Training or Brown/Kirkham, The Pruning of Trees, Shrubs and Conifers.