Cupressus nootkatensis 'Strict Weeping'

Discussion in 'Gymnosperms (incl. Conifers) Photo Gallery' started by dcsteg, Sep 12, 2007.

1. dcsteg

dcsteg Active Member 10 Years

Tall, extremely narrow tree with foliage hanging down directly against trunk with only an occasional aberrant branch. Pendulous to the extreme if I would cut the wild horizontal branching at the bottom but I prefer to leave it alone. I have it planted in my garden as a focal plant. Not sure how name tag should read as I see in another thread the species has been changed.

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Re: Chamaecyparis nootkatensis 'Strict Weeping'

Probably it will end up being reverted to Cupressus, meanwhile it doesn't seem to have been settled yet. It's a matter of which opinion prevails, gains wide acceptance. Such things often take years.

3. Karalyn

Karalyn Active Member

I love this tree. I'm new to the conifer world and learning the botanical names as well as Tag Names. I think this a lovely Chamaecyparis Nootkatensis, but what do you mean when you say it might revert to a cupressus.
    What does that look like?

I have read also, I think at Iseli that the horizontal branch is left to add character or something interesting. Which is good. I guess only can be a problem if it obscures another plant.

4. dcsteg

Hi Karalyn,

Just a name change that's all. Nothing physically to do with the conifer in color or growing habit.

5. KarinL

KarinL Well-Known Member 10 Years

The new book by Bitner has a photo of this in which the bottom branching has become quite broad indeed, so I am not sure it is one of the fully fastigiate cultivars like Van Den Akker or Green Arrow.

6. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

I wouldn't expect any of them to not develop a basal skirt, but I haven't studied these narrow forms systematically. I have noticed that labeling in local outlets seems to be mixed up, as is so often the case.

7. dcsteg