Crimson bouquet in container

Discussion in 'Rosa (roses)' started by GreenGarden, Mar 6, 2007.

1. GreenGarden

GreenGarden Member

Hi.

I live in an apartment in Fremont , CA. .
    My apartment patio faces the North East direction. But gets light from the east side for 4 hours.
    I am a novice gardener and was planning on setting up a rose garden in my patio in containers.
    I got a potted rose,Grandiflora Crimson Bouquet from a Nursery a couple of days back.
    I have attached some snaps of the potted rose along with this mail.

My questions are :

1. I was wondering whether 4 hours of sunlight is enough for this rose.If not, what other measures can i take to ensure that it gets more light..

2.Also it is now in a paper pot . The lady at the nursery told me that I dont need to repot until august and then i do it as by then the pot might disintegrate. So was wondering whether i repot right now itself or wait till august. If I repot now what should be the container size and could u provide me with some information on how i move froward with it. And if I wait till august will it be a good time to repot ?

3. Also as u can see in the snaps, there are a couple of roots coming out from the side. Is that ok ? Should i do something about it.

Thanks and regards,

GreeenGarden

Attached Files:

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Put it in a bigger, decorative pot made from more durable material. Do not set it in a saucer.

3. GreenGarden

GreenGarden Member

Hi Ron
    When u say to put in a bigger pot, do u mean just for decoration purpose or for repotting

4. Weekend Gardener

Weekend Gardener Active Member 10 Years