Cattleya Orchids

Discussion in 'Orchidaceae (orchids)' started by BARRYJARREAU, Apr 27, 2008.

1. BARRYJARREAU

BARRYJARREAU Member

I Am A Novice Trying To Start Cattleya Orchids. I Need Help With Iding The Parts Mentioned In Books, Etc., Such As Spikes, Pseudobulbs,or Any Other Tips Would Be Greatly Appreciated. Thanks.

2. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years

Here's a general key to parts of the whole plant; the orchid in the picture is Cattleya maxima.

For more detailed flower anatomy Click Here and scroll down until you find the Cattleya orchid flower. Orchid Lady is a great site for general tips as well.

I've found that in general, Cattleya are pretty tough, so they're ideal if this is your first time growing orchids. It's very very hard to kill them. This said, mine seem to prefer full sunlight and to be soaked down with a hose at sunset. Bear in mind that I grow species Catts (not hybrids,) that I grow them outdoors and that mine are fairly well established on their stumps.

If you're growing indoors, you should mist them down at night, rather than dousing them with the hose - this will save your carpets or flooring. How old are your plants? How do you have them potted / situated? Can you post us a picture?

HTH

Attached Files:

3. BARRYJARREAU

BARRYJARREAU Member

Thanks For Your Help, I Do Fairly Well With Phalaenopsis, But I Can't For The Life Of Me Keep A Catleya Alive, I Live In Louisiana So Full Sun Would Be Too Much For Orchids. I Keep Mine In A Window With An Eastern Exposure So They Get Some Morning Sun, I Do Well For A While, & Then When I Think I've Got The Swing Of Things The Leaves Begin To Curl & Shrivel & Then It Dies.i Pot Mine In Spagnum Moss, Is That Ok? I Bought The Last One On Line So I Guess It Is A Hybrid, It Is Called Hawiian Wedding Bells Anyway Thanks For Your Help. Barry

4. lorax

lorax Rising Contributor 10 Years