Canna lillies

Discussion in 'Outdoor Tropicals' started by honolua, Jul 20, 2009.

1. honolua

honolua Active Member

Hi again,
    Forgot to ask about my lillies....In the lower mainland, do most dig up their canna lily bulbs and store them, or simply cover well with mulch when they die to the ground? I have seen many around my neighbourhood but can't imagine them dug up each year.....I have had luck, even after this past horrible winter, with my gingers and I did nothing to them! In fact, I expected them to be dead and they were the first to come up this spring. If I could leave them in the ground, I prefer to as I am not very good at carefully digging things up......
    help!

2. Charles Richard

Charles Richard Active Member 10 Years

Hello Honolua,
    I have a questions for you about your gingers. I have a Hedychium 'Tihitian Flame' that I purchased and have in a large pot. It is doing quite well.
    I had a Hedychium 'Tara' which did remarkebly well last year and lost it last winter.
    Which types do you have and where do you plant them? In full sun or filtered sunlight?
    Do you have to cover them for the winter.
    My friend does not dig her canna's up for the winter but, I know that they are in quite a free draining soil around the tuber so that winter wet does not rot them.
    Sorry that I do not have first hand experience with them.

3. honolua

honolua Active Member

Hi,