Can Orchid leaves be planted to make new Orchids?

Discussion in 'Orchidaceae (orchids)' started by MaryBi, Sep 5, 2008.

1. MaryBi

MaryBi Member

HI,
    I am a beginner with orchids. I only have two babies and one blooming orchid. A leaf broke off of my blooming orchid. Can I plant it to make more orchids?
    Thank you,
    MaryBi

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Usually pieces of rootstock must be attached.

3. MaryBi

MaryBi Member

Thanks for your reply. I am going to plant it and see if it will root for me. I don't know any other way to make more orchids right now. So you don't think it will root for me?
    MaryBi

4. togata57

togata57 Generous Contributor 10 Years

I really doubt it. What species of orchid do you have? If one with pseudobulbs, perhaps it can be divided; if, say, a phalaenopsis, you could wait and see if it will produce a keiki for you. ---However, I HAVE rooted a cutting of a jewel orchid (Ludisia discolor) which I potted up after it developed adequate roots---now doing well. So, once again: what is your orchid?

5. MaryBi

MaryBi Member

Well, first, thanks for all the responses I got on this question. Since I am brand new to Orchids, I have to ask 'togata57', what are pseudobulbs? What is a keiki? What is a jewel orchid? What is Ludisia discolor?

I purchased my orchid at Lowe's and the attached label read as follows "Phalenopsis sp. It is blooming now and in the repot a leaf broke off. I have planted it just to see if it will produce anything.

6. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Surf "phalenopsis propagation".

7. togata57