Banana genera, species and cultivars info wanted

Discussion in 'Plants: Nomenclature and Taxonomy' started by kevind76, Nov 5, 2009.

1. kevind76

kevind76 Active Member

I'm new to bananas, and was wondering about what genera and species there are that would be considered 'bananas'. I have found Musa, Ensete, and also Musella to be in the Family Musaceae. Is the term 'banana' accurate for this family, or only for Musa? Are there many species in this family? Has there been a lot of hybridization? Specifically, I am wondering about the only banana that I have, a Dwarf Orinoco - does anyone know the history of this one? Is it a hybrid? A cultivar of a speices? Have there been any records of the history of hybridization? I am familiar with the naming system of orchids, and it takes some getting used to other families where the rule is 'anything goes' and there are not records, so you have no idea what the make-up of a plant is.

2. Harri Harmaja

Harri Harmaja Active Member 10 Years

3. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years

Depends on what standards of naming you use. Most would say just Musa, but there is a very unhelpful concept being heavily pushed in some quarters that believes that absolutely anything can be called anything, so long as some uneducated person has made that mistake in the past. By their ideas, you can call any plant you like - or animal, or inanimate object - a banana, and still be right. It doesn't make for good communication or science, though.

4. kevind76

kevind76 Active Member

What would you call the Musaceae family, then? Plantains? Or is there no common name to describe that family? If all three genera are the same, except for the fruit, what is a common feature of all, that would be easily described in a word?

5. kevind76

kevind76 Active Member

6. Michael F

Michael F Paragon of Plants Forums Moderator 10 Years