Bamboo as a privacy fence?

Discussion in 'Poaceae' started by Hybrid Theory, Nov 15, 2008.

1. Hybrid Theory

Hybrid Theory Active Member

I am new to bamboo and there are some people around me that have been using it as a privacy fence due to laws around me stating you can not have a fence more then 6' high. I want a kind that can take full sun grow to at least 10' and be very dense to hide out my neighbors house which is a piece of crap. any advice I would appreciate it very much.

2. englak

englak Active Member 10 Years

Planting shrubs is not the same thing as building a fence, check with your local city hall (quick call) to see if they have bylaws regarding planting for screening at property edges.

As far as growing bamboo goes - be careful! Some are very aggressive. I've seen golden bamboo send up shoots right through 2" thick concrete paving, which would quickly destroy a driveway or patio as you can imagine. Be sure that you are planting something that will solve your problems (screen an undesirable view) without adding new ones.

3. woodschmoe

woodschmoe Active Member 10 Years

Easiest to do a search for "bamboo" and "screen" or "hedge" on this forum, there are many past discussions on the topic, containing all you'll need to know. Basically, with an adequate rhizome barrier running won't be an issue.

Stories of bamboo punching through concrete, foundations, etc. are legion, though upon further examination, are not as alarming as they seem. Without a doubt, the concrete was cracked, or the bamboo came up in the spaces between pavers. Aggressive runners will do that. They'll sometimes come through asphalt as well, but there is no way a shoot will punch through solid concrete. A shoot that encounters strong resistance will simply go around the obstacle. It's a little like those myths of bamboo shoots used as torture: the old "it'll go through a human body" schtick. As a plant, bamboo manages to breed a particular sort of hysteria.

4. SfumatoPants