Aroids in Planted Ripariums

Discussion in 'Araceae' started by hydrophyte, Sep 26, 2009.

1. hydrophyte

hydrophyte Active Member

I have had a few years of experience growing plants in ripariums. These decorative displays combine elements of planted aquariums with some other kinds of setups. Here is one definition that has been offered:

Anyway, I have found various semi-aquatic, emergent aroids to be among the best plants for ripariums. In this thread I would like to describe some of my riparium displays, while highlighting the various aroids that I have grown in them. I'll start with the large tank that I have in the living room of my home.

65-gallon Riparium

The first a photograph attached below is from just this afternoon. I include also a couple of shots of the dwarf taro Colocasia fallax 'Silver Dollar', which is the centerpiece of this tank. I acquired this variety last spring from Plant Delights. I also have the species. 'Silver Dollar' grows somewhat larger leaves for me. It is such a handsome plant.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  2. hydrophyte

hydrophyte Active Member

This same riparium setup (the 65-gallon) also features as background plants the sweetflag Acorus gramineus 'Ogon'. I include attached (the first picture) a good-sized 'Ogon' in a riparium planter.

I understand that Acorus is no longer classified in Araceae, and instead resides in its own family, Acoraceae. A major feature distinguishing Acoraceae from the Araceae is the former group's lack of a flower spathe (if anyone sees any problems with my amateur's understanding of taxonomy here, then please correct me!). OF the several species of Acorus, A. gramineus is the most suitable for growing in ripariums. Other species, such as A. calamus tend to grow too large for the confines of an aquarium enclosure. A. gramineus also includes a number of attractive cultivars, with variations such as leaf pin-striping and colors ranging from dark green to bright yellow.