Aconitum

Discussion in 'Plants: Nomenclature and Taxonomy' started by MonkshoodManiac, Sep 17, 2005.

1. MonkshoodManiac

MonkshoodManiac Member

This is a great site and a great setup so I am very happy to join the forum. I am a horticulturist and a writer with a deep interest in perennials. I am the co-author of the Timber Press title, "Heucheras and Heucherellas" (along with Dan Heims).

My current interest is with Monkshoods and I am amassing much info for something I am calling the Aconitum Breeding and Development Project (ABDP). I am hoping to get UBC involved but it is not certain at this point.

At any rate, I do have people on board from the RFE (Russian Far East), Kunming BG and the Lyon BG in France. Seeds and rhizomes are expected soon from Vladivostok, Magadan and Sakhalin in the RFE and Yunnan and Sichuan in SW China.
    I am hopeful that we can take Aconitum to a new level.

I am currently preparing an article on Aconitum climbers for a British publication.

If anyone would like to share their monkshood stories with me/us, I/we would be delighted.

Cheers,

Grahame

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2005
  2. Daniel Mosquin

Daniel Mosquin Paragon of Plants UBC Botanical Garden Forums Administrator Forums Moderator 10 Years

3. MonkshoodManiac

MonkshoodManiac Member

Re: Hi To All!

Daniel: I am not aware of the total of your (UBC's) Aconitum accessions at this point. If you have that info, I would be grateful.
    Also: great photo of the Korean sp, A uchiyamai.

As you may be aware there is tremendous consolidation taking place within the genus. The splitter WT Wang is being trumped by the lumper QE Yang.

A lot of really fine work is being done in this genus by many folks and clarifying the confusion of the ages.

One of the problems is that Aconitums are what I call ecovertibles i.e. they are masters of morphing as a response to their envioronment.