British Columbia: Re-planting an arbutus tree

Discussion in 'Outdoor Gardening in the Pacific Northwest' started by canudigit, Feb 4, 2010.

1. canudigit

canudigit Member

I found a fallen arbutus tree on Mayne Island, and was wondering if it is possible to take a branch (or part of the branch) to try re-planting. I'm a rookie, so bear with me ....

2. Ron B

Ron B Paragon of Plants 10 Years

Arbutus menziesii is raised from seeds. Cuttings are used for A. unedo and A. 'Marina', but if your tree has been broken for some time, with deterioration of the top (wrinkling, drooping etc.) having occurred it is probably not in suitable condition to be used as a source of propagation material.

3. galiano

galiano Active Member

I lived for 24 years on Galiano Island and on numerous occasions tried transplanting arbutus, even tiny ones, without any success whatsoever. Arbutus are such beautiful trees but they seem to grow only where they want to. My advice would be to give up. I could be wrong about this and if anyone has had success growing or transplanting I'd like to hear about it.

4. Robby Doom

Robby Doom Member

I was wondering if anyone here has any experience in using Arbutus menziesii for bonsai.
    I just recently saw these trees while traveling home(Alert Bay) from Nanaimo this past week. What a beautiful tree!! I'm originally from Ontario. We don't have many of the tree that grow here in BC. I have many bonsai and would love to have Arbutus in my collection.
    Also, I would pay, if someone could get their hands on some seeds or seedlings and have them shipped to me. Unless someone knows of a place close to me. I have never seen this tree where I am.

5. ryansenechal

ryansenechal Active Member