Organic vs Chemical

Discussion in 'Organic Gardening' started by Wolvie150, Sep 14, 2008.

1. chimera

chimera Well-Known Member 10 Years

Bob2, Not really familiar here with the commercial mycorrhizae effects on maples and magnolias, but understand there is a symbiotic relationship between some types of mycorrhizae and rhododendrons , and also some orchid species. Some of the maple growers in the Maple Forum seem to feel their trees do better with the addition of mycorrhizae, not sure of which particular kinds of mycorrhizal fungi they are using. Guess a "search" of the forum would be informative.

Last edited: Jun 29, 2009
  2. bob 2

bob 2 Active Member

I'm no expert on symbiotic fungi either but I have to wonder how well the study on damage to rhodies was, given the "nebularium" of chance happenings in the real world.

If they are right they should be able to repeat the results.
    I'm just sayin...

3. chimera

chimera Well-Known Member 10 Years

Bob, not aware if there was a study done, seemed they thought the plants were doing better though. My understanding is that they were concerned of the effects on naturally occurring fungi, not commercial added fungi, of which both are mentioned in the article referrenced. Maybe somebody from UBC will be able to shed more light on this. Might be worthwhile somebody doing a study though, seems interesting, so much we don't know.

Last edited: Jun 29, 2009
  4. Millet

Millet Well-Known Member 10 Years